Wonder Woman Director to Receive 2018 Women in Motion Award

Patty Jenkins, director of Wonder Woman (2017) which casually went on to become the highest grossing superhero origin film of all time (you may have heard of it), will be awarded a Women in Motion Award at the Cannes film festival this year. Jenkins is winning it: she was nominated for TIME Person of the Year and has also been recently awarded the Creative Impact Award by Variety, alongside Get Out actor Daniel Kaluuya and Molly’s Game and The Social Network writer Alan Sorkin.


The Women in Motion Award honors women in front of and behind the film camera who have contributed to the progress of gender equality in the film industry. Jenkins’ success with Wonder Woman as the first female director under DC Comics pretty much secured her spot this year. Past recipients of the award include actress/activist Susan Sarandon as well as actress Geena Davis, who supports the Women’s Sports Foundation and advocates for Title IX.

No matter the opinions about the feminist nature of Wonder Woman, Patty Jenkins has really broken ground as a mainstream female director creating a story of a popular female superhero. If you are interested in her filmography, Jenkins’ most acclaimed film before Wonder Woman was Academy Award-winning biographical crime drama film Monster (2003) starring Charlize Theron, which Roger Ebert crowned as the third best film of the decade. Not bad, huh?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s